Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in comments
Search in excerpt
Search in posts
Search in pages
Search in groups
Search in users
Search in forums
Filter by Categories
Contest & Awards
How do you like the site updates?
September 6, 2014

Welcome to the updated CCMA website!

This new version uses BuddyPress tools that allow registered users to add content and comments to the site through groups, forums and activity posts as well as through comments. We hope you’ll use the site to communicate your ideas with other student journalists and advisers.

Please let us know your impressions of the updates and offer suggestions for what you’d like to see on the site.

Apply now to be a CCMA student board member
August 22, 2014

The California College Media Association is accepting nominations for student board members for 2014-15. The board is seeking one student board member each from Northern and Southern California and one at-large board member. Students would be expected to take part in monthly teleconference meetings and would likely help with the organizations recruiting, website and social media. Deadline is Sept. 10.

For more information: http://www.calcollegemedia.org/who-we-are/student-board-member-application/

Santa Barbara college papers step up to provide Isla Vista coverage
May 26, 2014

Included in the Los Angeles Times coverage of the mass killings in Isla Vista over Memorial Day weekend was a story describing the journalistic efforts of editor Marissa Wenzke and her staff at the UC Santa Barbara student paper, the Daily Nexus.

Bob Pool’s story opens with Wenzke leaving a party Friday night to check out an accident about a block away. She later learned the car crash involved the BMW driven by suspect Elliot Rodger. At the time, Wenzke told Pool, she had no idea she had happened on the beginnings of a story that made headlines all over the world.

“The most disgusting thing is we didn’t realize the gravity of this,” Pool quotes her as saying. “Then we go to the press conference at the sheriff’s office about 2 in the morning and are sitting there when they tell us seven had died. I got emotional. I couldn’t believe it. Until then, it had been ‘possible fatalities.'”

Editor-in-Chief Rachel Zemanek at The Channels, the paper at Santa Barbara City College, also worked past the end of her academic year to provide her readers coverage of the slayings, including suspect Rodger’s status as a student there. The Channels posted updates both Saturday and Sunday as the story unfolded.